NaPoWriMo, 2013, #16, Translation Mistakes Prompt

This prompt was hysterical. When I read my tranlation I couldn’t stop laughing!
And yes, my spell check went bonkers. I chose poems of Swedish language because there were only 8 to choose from (I’m not good with decisions) and, yes, my spelling and grammar check is still going bonkers but at least it turned green. So, I’ve re-written this depressing poem with my pardon to the author and the Swedish language also.

BLI ALDRIG VÄN MED EN KRÅKA

Bli aldrig vän med en kråka!
sade en biolog i radion. Kråkan
fäster sig snabbt vid dig, hon knackar på
fönstret oavbrutet, kråkan blir lätt psykotisk.
Ingenting händer här. Ingenting. Trädgårdar
i regn. Citroner i månsken. En flock kajor lyfte med ett
häftigt oväsen vid ruinen igår kväll. Klockorna milt
genom diset. Röken, klangerna. Jag såg en gång
en liten flickas ögon gå i moln, det var irreparabelt
från början, det gör ont. Molnet drog över den
violetta ögonvitan långsamt inåt mot
pupillen och sedan kunde jag inte
följa det längre, molnet.

© 1997, Tua Forsström
From: Efter att ha tillbringat en natt bland hästar
Publisher: Bonniers; Helsingfors; Söderstrom, Stockholm, 1997

This is MY translation (LOL!)

FRIEND NEVER MAKE THEM A CROW!

Friend never make them a crow!
Said a Biologist on radio. Crows
fasten they quickly with you. She knocks on
window overmuch. Crows become very psychotic.
Nothing happens here. Nothing.
Garden In rain. Citrus in moonlight.
A flock jackdaws lifted them here
Having overture with ruin last day.
Bell noise mild distance through, smoke, clanging.
I saw in Past In little girl eyes gone in a clouds.
That was irreparable.
From beginning it was pain.
Cloud drag over it Violet eye white slowly into towards.

This is my re-write:

ALWAYS MAKE FRIENDS WITH CROWS

If I had a crow as a friend
there would always be something to do.
You can teach them to knock on windows
and they are always laughing at you.

A stupid Biologist said
on the radio one rainy night.
That citrus trees grow in the garden
and that jackdaws take off in moonlight.

Their noise in the castle ruins
blends with the bells in the town
The clanging through smoke in the distance
is the blind girl burning it down.

3 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo, 2013, #16, Translation Mistakes Prompt

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo (# 17):Welcome Home.. | Thinking aloud….

  2. Well done. I have to admit, your initial translation is my favorite bit. It’s on odd mix of random amusing jumblings and surprisingly pleasing imagery.

Leave a comment